The International Energy Policy Conference was founded and has been managed and chaired by Mark A. Stansberry, Chairman of The GTD Group, since 1992. The first conference was held at the University of Oklahoma with the conference founding corporation being The Oklahoma Royalty Company.

IEPC has been hosted by various sponsors, corporations and organizations such as the Oklahoma Royalty Company, The Energy Advocates, The Oklahoma State Chamber, The U.S. Department of Energy, Sarkeys Energy Center/University of Oklahoma, People to People International, The American Gas Association, Oklahoma Marginal Well Commission and the World Alliance for Decentralized Energy. The involvement of these organizations are what has allowed the conference to grow each year.

IEPC has a strong list of Past Honorary Conference Chairs such as Former Oklahoma Governor Frank Keating, Oklahoma Lt. Governor Mary Fallin, U. S. Senator Don Nickles, U. S. Congressman Watkins, Oklahoma Corporation Commissioner Denise Bode, Tulsa Mayor Bill LaFortune, James A. Beck and U.S. Ambassador to Saudi Arabia Robert Jordan.

The International Society of the Energy Advocates has a strong history of supporting IEPC. Each year the Advocates host their annual meetings as well as honor their membership at the conference with their annual “Energy Advocate of the Year” awards. Past Energy Advocate (Individual) of the Year Award winners have included members Dan Jordan, Mike Oxley, Christine Hansen, Liz Fajen, Dr. Charles Mankin, A.M. “Mac” Alloway, Aubrey McClendon, Larry Nichols, Harold Hamm and Sherman Smith. The Corporate winners have been corporations like Schlumberger, New Prospect Company, Devon Energy Company, Chesapeake Energy, Ward Petroleum Corporation and Farmers National Company.

Another yearly honor goes to members in long standing with the Lifetime Achievement award. Past winners of this honor have been John (Jack) A. Taylor, Sherman Smith, Wayne Swearingen, L. O. Ward, Raymond Plank, A.M. “Mac” Alloway, Boone Pickens, Robert Hefner III just to name a few.

Each year IEPC selects a host city in which to hold the event at. Past conferences have been held in Washington, D. C., Tulsa, OK, Denver, CO., Dallas, TX. The 2007 was the official Oklahoma Centennial Salute to the energy sector of Oklahoma. For that celebration, IEPC had events held in both Tulsa and Oklahoma City. Washington D.C. was once again the selected location for 2009’s conference held in conjunction with the Oklahoma State Chamber’s annual “D.C. Fly-in”. 2009 brought IEPC back to Oklahoma City, Ok.

The founding principle of IEPC remains steadfast: The availability of reasonably priced energy is paramount to the economic and business development both in the United States and in other countries around the world. It also greatly impacts many, many other aspects of human development globally. IEPC is a unique format that has been developed through the years. The conference is a forum where companies, corporations, legislators and organizations can provide vital input as well as receive valuable information from industry leaders and specialists throughout the energy industry.